Area               : 6,219.66 sq. km.
Region           : CAR, I, II, III
Provinces      : Benguet, Tarlac, Pangasinan, Ifugao, Pampanga, Nueva Vizcaya, Mountain Province, Nueva Ecija, Zambales
Municipalities : 73
Barangays      : 1,203
Outlet             : Lingayen Gulf
Est. Pop’n       : 2.976 M (1995)
RBO                 : Agno River Basin Management Council
RDC Reso.       :
Forestland       : 3,264,.81 sq. km.
A&D                  : 2,954.85 sq. km.
NGP Area         : 366.80 sq. km.


“The Agno River Basin is envisioned to be a haven for its populace under God’s divine guidance radiating in the diversity and industry of its people, each charting one’s own and sharing for everyone’s well-being towards a pristine, diverse, and disaster resilient environment.”


To protect, conserve, sustainably develop, and restore the quality and beneficial uses of water, land, flora and fauna, habitats, and other natural resources for the upliftment of the living conditions of the communities within the Agno River Basin through:
a. the adoption and integration of appropriate local and global best practices;
b. institutionalization of partnership between and among concerned stakeholders;
c. ensuring welfare and rights of the people with purposive regard for the indigenous peoples; and
d. the practice of participatory, accountability, responsibility and transparency principles.


  1. Upper Agno Watershed
  2. Lower Agno Watershed
  3. Ambayoan Watershed
  4. Camiling Watershed
  5. O'donell and Tarlac Watershed
  6. Dipalo River Watershed
  7. Dumoloc Watershed
  1. Mt. Pulag National Park (Partly covered by Agno and Cagayan River Basins)
  2. Lower Agno Watershed Forest Reserve
  3. Ambuklao-Binga WFR
  4. Manleluag Spring National Park
  1. Sinocalan-Dagupan River System

The Agno River Basin Development Commission (ARBDC) was created by virtue of Executive Order 442 s. 1997 as amended by Executive Order 140 s. 1999. The Commission is mandated to oversee and coordinate all developmental undertakings within the Agno River Basin to ensure that resources planning and management are carried out in accordance with sustainable development. The Commission was later abolished as part of the rationalization of agencies under/attached to the Office of the President (E.O. 357 s. 2004).

River Basin Organization

  1. Review and monitor the implementation of all programs and projects implementation of all programs and projects implemented by the various NGAs, LGUs and others stakeholders including all socio – economic activities and research studies conducted within the river basin.
  2. Facilitate or cause the collection, processing and dissemination of data including maps on land and water resources as quantitative inputs to decision support systems that the body may utilize for decision – making on water resources and river basin programs and projects.
  3. Promote broader multi – stakeholder participation and involvement in water resources management through proper mechanism to improve governance.
  4. Recommend programs, projects and activities (PPAs) within the basin for consideration and possible adoption by the concerned agencies and appropriate bodies.
  5. Initiate the review of policies, plans, programs, projects and activities of all national government agencies, local government units, Indigenous Cultural Communities (ICCs) and other stakeholders within the basin and recommend appropriate actions to harmonize these activities towards Integrated River Basin Management and Integrated Water Resources Management;
  6. Create communities/sub-Committees and/or technical working groups as may be necessary to discharge its functions effectively.
  7. Assist in conflict resolution arising from the use, development and management of the resources within the Agno River Basin; and
  8. Perform such other functions as may be deemed necessary by the ARBIACB